Notice: Undefined index: image_link in /home/chairpag/public_html/app/views/headlines/current.thtml on line 19



Nominations for the 2008 APRA Music Awards were announced in Sydney earlier today with Silverchair’s Daniel Johns scoring nominations in both of the major categories.

“Straight Lines” is up for the prestigious APRA Song of the Year Award and Most Played Australian Work.

“It’s an honour to be thought of in this way by APRA and its members” Daniel Johns said. “Songwriting is a really important part of my life so getting this kind of recognition from your Australian peers feels pretty good.”
Past winners of the APRA Song of the Year award have included Missy Higgins for “Scar”, Neil and Tim Finn for “Four Seasons in One Day” and Kasey Chambers for “Not Pretty Enough”. It is Australia’s biggest peer-voted music award with 30,000 APRA members deciding the winner.

While Daniel has written and co-written some classic Australian tunes none have ever been voted APRA Song of The Year. However, he has twice been named APRA Songwriter of the Year (in 1995 with bandmate Ben Gillies and in 2003 for his work on “Diorama”). The Songwriter of the Year Award is chosen by the APRA board. Nominees are not announced in advance for that category – a winner is simply announced on the night of the Awards ceremony.

This most recent acknowledgement by APRA caps off another extraordinary year for Silverchair. After a lengthy hiatus the band returned in 2007 with their fifth consecutive number 1 charting album “Young Modern”. The disc was among the most acclaimed of the group’s career. It went on to be certified triple platinum and swept last year’s ARIA Awards.

The 2008 APRA Music Awards will be held in Sydney on Monday June 16.